Yay First Post!!!

Wow, I think it’s been forever since I’ve had a blog. Bring me back to the high school Livejournal days!

Anyways, the point of this blog is to try out things I’ve found on Pinterest and blog about my experiences. Pretty simple. I think there are probably a million blogs already on this subject, but whatever. Most of the things are going to be food related. I enjoy food a lot, and cooking is fun for me. I did do a stint of culinary school about four years ago, but I didn’t graduate. I learned a lot while I was there, most of it revolved around the realization that the culinary industry is filled with uptight assholes and old farts too stuck on their ideas to ever teach anything that will help me make anything of myself.

There will also be some posts about arts and crafts. I’m a pretty crafty person. I’ve catered a few small weddings which include the table decorations and everything. So far I’ve been successful, so I assume I have a good eye for taking ideas from Pinterest and making them my own. Most of the posts will be cost conscious as well. I don’t make a lot of money, and I work 40 hours a week. So the crock pot and homemade gifts are two of my best friends.
With all that crap being said, lets start my first trial!

Yesterday I found a post for beef tips in mushroom sauce. You can find the original post here.  I found this recipe exceptionally odd because it called for a can of 7-up. Soda??? In my tasty red meat?!?!? I’m skeptical too. It’s a crock pot recipe, and I happen to have one of those (thanks to Mom…awesome Christmas gift). So I mixed everything together this morning. Trust me, I’m not a good morning person, so mixing a few simple things together at 7am while drinking coffee and fending off two dogs that have to pee NOW is a godsend. I added the soda last, and surprisingly everything mixed together smelled pretty good. I also threw in some frozen green beans and corn for color. I think it would’ve looked pretty bland without those little pops of green and yellow to beautify my noms.  I think I turned on my cooker around 7:30, and I get home at 6:30. So it’ll have around 11 hours to hang out in its mushroomy-soda bath.

It’s supposed to look like this:

Hopefully it turns out sometime like that. I was thinking of adding some garlic mashed potatoes along with it, which I’d gladly eat alone. Mostly because it’s freezing outside and I love mashed potatoes no matter what season it is.  I’ll update on it’s appearance and tastiness once I get home tonight. Wish me luck!!!

UPDATE!!!!!!

So I went home to the house smelling pretty damn good last night. Of course, my lovely husband claims that whatever is in the crock pot looks kinda like dog food…but dog food doesn’t smell that good, so he’s willing to try it.  I open the lid to find this:

It’s true that it’s not as pretty as the heavily doctored picture featured on Pinterest, but it’s warm and it smells like meaty-goodness. So how does it taste?

Honestly not that bad. It’s basically a pot roast stew. I think I added too much soda to the pot, because the sauce was a little thin. I ate mine out of a bowl (I put garlic mashed potatoes in the bottom and scooped this stuff on top), I think a plate would’ve been a little messy. Next time, I plan on doing the same recipe minus a lot less soda, and possibly making it into some sort of Shepard’s pie. I like pie no matter what type it is, and maybe the dough would add that little something extra that this needed.

Verdict: Win (ish). Definitely not a fail, since the hubs had seconds. But can I make it better…faster…stronger? You bet your ass. Next time I make it, I’ll post lots of pretty pictures too.

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

